Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

News - Details

2010 Tournament of Champions - Indiana Brings Home Victories

July 22, 2010 01:07 PM

The 2010 Tournament of Champions featured the previous champions along with current state and league championship teams in four competitive categories from the Midwest Region's 14 state associations. These categories include Men's Open, Men 0/30, Men U23, and Women's Open. The tournament has grown to be one of the two largest such events in the Midwest annually. Envisioned by Joe Rodrigues (past Regional Director, Region II), the TOC began in 1980 to provide competition between the best teams in each of the States of the Midwest Region.  This year twenty nine teams competed in Cleveland at the Lost Nations Sports Park.  Four teams were sent home as champions taking with them the TOC traveling trophies.  Two of these trophies now reside in Indiana for the next year. 

After round robin play on Saturday, finals were played on Sunday to determine champions.  In the Womens Open division, Fort Wayne Sport Club played their final with Real Madrid from Kansas to a 4-0 victory.  The Men's Over-30 division had 9 entries.  BRSC from Indiana made it to the semi-finals where they ended regulation time in a tie and lost in PKs to the eventual division champion FC Romania from Illinois. The Men's U23 division found Westside United U23 the winner over Ohio North U23 by a 2-0 score.