Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

News - Details


January 22, 2013 05:56 PM

Indiana Soccer, a member of the United States Soccer Federation, United States Youth Soccer Association and the United States Adult Soccer Association, announced today the winners from its annual awards banquet in downtown Indianapolis.
The non-profit organization, which oversees more than 60,000 Hoosier players from 140 soccer clubs, received more than 150 nominations highlighting the state’s leading coaches, referees and volunteers.
"These recognitions not only highlight the technical talent displayed by some of our top members, but those that fully embody the spirit of the game," said Dave Guthrie, executive director of Indiana Soccer. "We’re proud to honor these individuals as they continue to cultivate and mature future leaders using the game of soccer as a tool to do so.”
Indiana Soccer had the opportunity to host Lauren Cheney as a special guest speaker for Indiana Soccer’s members to learn more about her professional and personal life. “I am a normal person that has followed my dream,” said Lauren Cheney. “I recommend Indiana Soccer youth players to stay focused, and not to listen to everything people say about you because they sometimes do not know everything… remember to follow your dreams,” said Cheney. 
Indiana Soccer president, Murray Clark and other members of the board such as treasurer, Joseph Fistrovich, directors, Anthony Zirille, Alan Brown, David Sherman, Moe Merhoff, and new director, A.L. Smith attended the event. 
“I am very happy to see members of the board being part of this special event for Indiana Soccer. It is important for them to see the wonderful people that make Indiana Soccer, a proud member of US Youth Soccer, the largest youth sport organization in the world, the most recognized youth soccer organization in the state of Indiana,” said president of Indiana Soccer, Murray Clark.   
Boys Coach of the Year (Travel)
Mike Eggleston
Blue River Soccer Assoc.
Girls Coach of the Year (Travel)
Chris Tillett
Hoosier FC
Girls Coach of the Year (Recreational)
MaryAnn Martin
Cutters Soccer Club 
Boys Coach of the Year (Recreational)
Elizabeth Turner
Tri-West Soccer Club
Club Director of Coaching of the Year
Jamie Wood
Fishers Soccer Club
Volunteer of the Year
Millard Graber
Goshen Stars
Administrator of the Year
John Case
Westside United
Manager of the Year
Tina Tamburini
Zionsville SC
Jay Fredrich Good of Soccer
Howard Green
Greenfield Area Soccer
John Denkmann Referee of the Year
Matt McIntyre
Newburgh, Ind.
Young Male Referee of the Year
Collin Luckey
Noblesville, Ind.
Young Female Referee of the Year
Lauren Weigel
Noblesville, Ind.
James Carson Jr. Lifetime Achievement Award
Klemens Zembragel
President's Award
Jim King
Evansville Soccer Club 
President's Award
A.L. Smith
St. Francis Soccer Club
President's Award
Curt Albertson
Power Soccer Indy
President's Award
Mark Anderson
Westfield Youth Soccer
Spirit Award
Hope Van Wagner
Avon, Ind.
Spirit Award
Peter Urban
Fillmore, Ind.
TOPSoccer Buddy of the Year
Charlie Joyce
Greenfield Area Soccer
Indiana Soccer Hall of Fame
Danny Jeftich
Indiana Soccer Hall of Fame
Ron Ray

Indiana Soccer invites its members to identify outstanding coaches, players, referees, administrators and volunteers for next year’s awards ceremony so that they can be showcased and appropriately recognized.
To see Lauren Cheney's video, please visit the Indiana Soccer Facebook Page at, Make sure you like the page to follow what's happening in Indiana Soccer.