Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

News - Details

Vote for Indiana's Lori Lindsey for WPS Player of the Month!

April 30, 2010 02:52 AM

Voting for the WPS Player of the Month for April is online for fans and via ballot for teams and media. The vote is weighted 33% media, 33% fans and 33% teams. The results will be announced on the league site at on April 30.

Nominees are selected from the WPS Player of the Week voting supplied by the North American Soccer Reporters (NASR) who cover WPS. Write-ins are also counted on the ballots and online from fan voting. Voting closes at 6pm PT / 9pm ET on Thursday, April 29.

This month's nominees include Eniola Aluko, Kelly Smith and Tasha Kai, each of whom scored two goals, Abby Wambach and Lori Lindsey, who both recorded four assists, and Hope Solo, who helped St. Louis Athletica to an undefeated start to the season.
WPS April Player of the Month Nominees (from WPS Player of the Week votes)
1.) Eniola Aluko (Saint Louis Athletica)  Week 1
2.) Abby Wambach (Washington Freedom)  Week 2
3.) Lori Lindsey (Philadelphia Independence) Week 3
4.) Kelly Smith (Boston Breakers)   At-Large
5.) Hope Solo (Saint Louis Athletica)   At-Large
6.) Tasha Kai (Sky Blue FC)    At-Large
Vote now >>

About Women’s Professional Soccer (WPS)
Headquartered in San Francisco, Women’s Professional Soccer (WPS) is the world’s premier soccer league for women with eight teams across the United States featuring the best players from around the world. WPS completed its inaugural season in August 2009 as Sky Blue FC of New Jersey became the first-ever WPS Champions. In 2010, eight teams will each play 24-game schedules from April 10-September 12 including six original WPS teams – Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, FC Gold Pride (Bay Area), Saint Louis Athletica, Sky Blue FC (NJ/NY) and Washington Freedom – and two expansion teams Atlanta Beat and Philadelphia Independence. The top four finishers in the regular season will qualify for the 2010 WPS Playoffs scheduled for September 19-26. For more information, visit the WPS official website at or follow all the news at