Online education from US Youth Soccer
Print Page Share

US Youth Soccer ODP alum Press, Nagbe win 2010 MAC Hermann Trophy

January 18, 2011 09:00 PM
Senior forward Christen Press from Stanford University and junior forward Darlington Nagbe from the University of Akron are the winners of the 2010 Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy, presented to the best female and male players in NCAA Division I soccer. The winners were decided by a vote of NCAA Division I soccer coaches whose programs are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Both Press and Nagbe, along with all four men's and women's runners-up (Melissa Henderson, Notre Dame; Alex Morgan, California; Will Bruin, Indiana; and Colin Rolfe, Louisville) are US Youth Soccer Olympic Development Program (US Youth Soccer ODP) alumni. Along with developing through US Youth Soccer ODP, all six players helped lead their club teams to success in the US Youth Soccer National Championship Series.

Press played in four US Youth Soccer National Championship games, winning twice with Slammers FC of Cal-South, and won the Golden Boot for most outstanding player in 2003. Henderson advanced to the National Championships three times, twice with the Dallas Texans and once with Sting Dallas, finishing second in 2008 with Sting. Morgan captained Cypress Elite to a state title in highly competitive Southern California.

Nagbe won four Ohio-North state championships with his club, Internationals of Cleveland. Bruin played his club ball for St. Louis Scott Gallagher, leading them to three consecutive Missouri state titles, and Rolfe won one state crown playing for the Michigan Wolves.

This year's presentation is unique in that it marks the first time both the men's and women's winners are from the same teams as the winners the year before. In 2009, Kelley O'Hara won the women's award for Stanford, while Teal Bunbury received the men's award for Akron. It also is the first time for the women's award to be presented to two different players from the same team in successive years. The last time that occurred with the men's award was 1985-86, when Thomas Kain and John Kerr claimed the award for Duke University.

Press (Palos Verdes, Calif.) led the nation in goals (26) and points (60) while helping the Cardinal reach the College Cup final. Her 26 goals tied the school's single-season scoring record, set last year by O'Hara. The senior forward leaves the program as the most prolific scorer in Stanford history, establishing the career record in goals (71), assists (41) and points (183). Press earned Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year and NSCAA first-team All-America honors. She also excelled in the classroom, earning first-team Academic All-America honors.

Stanford had an impressive 67-0-1 record when Press had a goal or assist during her collegiate career. She is the Cardinal's all-time scorer in NCAA Tournament play with 13 goals. This season, Press led Stanford to its second consecutive perfect conference season, sending the team to its third consecutive College Cup.

The first runner-up was Notre Dame junior forward Melissa Henderson (Garland, Texas) followed by California senior forward Alex Morgan (Diamond Bar, Calif.).

Nagbe (Lakewood, Ohio) helped Akron capture its first national championship in any sport and capped off the historic season by becoming the second consecutive player from the program to win the crystal soccer ball trophy. The junior forward/midfielder was the 2010 Mid-American Conference Player of the Year and earned first team NSCAA/Performance Subaru All-America honors.

Nagbe started all 25 games for the Zips and was second on the team with 29 shots on goal. He scored seven goals and added a career-high 13 assists, which was tops on the team and ranked seventh among all Division I players. Of his 13 assists, six set up game-winning goals. The driving force on Akron's top-ranked attacking unit, Nagbe netted a pair of game-winning goals with the decisive strike in a pair of big wins against No. 9 Creighton (Oct. 27) and Western Michigan (Nov. 14) in the Mid-American Conference Tournament championship game.

The first runner-up was Indiana junior forward Will Bruin (St. Louis, Mo.) followed by Louisville junior forward Colin Rolfe (Canton, Mich.).

The Missouri Athletic Club has been presenting college soccer's players of the year awards since 1986. The MAC was established in 1903 as an athletic, dining and social club. It has a ""Platinum Club of America"" status, which is awarded to the top private clubs in the country.

Based in Kansas City, Kan., the NSCAA is the largest coaches' organization in the world. Since its founding in 1941, it has grown to include more than 30,000 members who coach both genders at all levels of the sport. In addition to a national rankings program for colleges and high schools, NSCAA offers an extensive recognition program that presents nearly 10,000 individual awards every year. It fulfills its mission of coaching education through a nationwide program of clinics and week-long courses, teaching more than 6,000 soccer coaches each year.



* Denotes required field




We look forward to reviewing your comments!

Please input the text and numbers that you see above into the following box in order to post your comment.