Skip to Main Content

Competitions Results

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

2012 US Youth Soccer Girls and Boys Competitive Coach of the Year Award Winners Announced

January 18, 2013 08:13 PM

INDIANAPOLIS (Jan. 18, 2013) — The recipients of the 2012 US Youth Soccer Competitive Coach of the Year award for Girls and Boys were announced tonight at the US Youth Soccer Awards Gala, held in conjunction with the 2013 US Youth Soccer Workshop in Indianapolis. The national US Youth Soccer Competitive Coaches of the Year award winners are Larry Best of Vienna, Va., (Girls) and Mike Dean of Omaha, Neb., (Boys).
Hilary Kennedy, host of The US Youth Soccer Show on Fox Soccer, set the stage for the night as the master of ceremonies for the more than 1,000 in attendance. Boys and Girls Recreation Coaches of the Year, Young Referee of the Year, Administrator of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Goal and Save of the Year, TOPSoccer Buddy of the Year, the Dr. Thomas Fleck Award, and the US Youth Soccer Hall of Fame inductees were honored, as well.
With Larry Best, the emphasis is on development, not winning. He focuses on player improvement and doesn’t restrict his commitment to the field. He is involved in helping his players during their college selection process. His focus on improving skills helped BRYC 95 Elite win the US Youth Soccer Virginia State Cup, Region I Championship and U-16 National Championship. Meanwhile, his players also achieved their best team GPA and performed community service.
A coach who cares about matters on and off the field, Mike Dean promotes fair play and doesn’t tolerate unsportsmanlike behavior. He tries to give his players the playing time and opportunities to reach their highest potential. Dean coaches the physical and mental aspects of the game, and four of his players at the Omaha Football Club have committed to NCAA Division I college programs. Three of his players were selected to the US Youth Soccer Region II ODP squad, and Dean also coaches the Nebraska ODP team.
Recipients of the Competitive Coach of the Year awards are selected by the US Youth Soccer Board of Directors on the basis of sportsmanship, player development, personal coaching development and community involvement (citizenship).
For bios on each of the regional award winners, click here.
These coaches have committed to continued education and self-sacrifice to give back to the sport they love with the hope that they might enhance one of their players abilities and quality of life. US Youth Soccer is proud to highlight these Competitive Coaches of the Year for their time and efforts in contributing to America's youth through the great game of soccer. By promoting teamwork, discipline, fitness and fair play these coaches are making a difference.
For more information about the US Youth Soccer Awards Gala and award winners, go to


Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article