Skip to Main Content

Competitions Results

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

2012 US Youth Soccer Goal and Save of the Year named

January 18, 2013 07:06 PM

INDIANPOLIS (January 18, 2013) – The 2012 US Youth Soccer Goal and Save of the Year award recipients were announced tonight at the US Youth Soccer Awards Gala, held in conjunction with the 2012 US Youth Soccer Workshop at the NSCAA Convention in Indianapolis.
Based on an open submission process and online voting, the national US Youth Soccer Goal of the Year award winner is Nikosi Burgess of Deer Park, N.Y., and the Save of the Year winner is Luke Whelan of Roswell, Ga. Burgess plays for Dix Hills Heat and Whelan patrols the net for North Atlantic Soccer.
Hilary Kennedy, host of The US Youth Soccer Show on Fox Soccer, set the stage for the night as the master of ceremonies for the more than 1,000 in attendance. Boys and Girls Recreation and Competitive Coaches of the Year, Young Referee of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Administrator of the Year, TOPSoccer Buddy of the Year and the Dr. Thomas Fleck Award were presented during the Gala, and the 2012 US Youth Soccer Hall of Fame Class was inducted.
The submissions were narrowed down to 10 finalists by the Goal and Save of the Year Committee. Voting was then opened up to the public and the winners were selected by open voting on

For more information about the US Youth Soccer Awards Gala and award winners, go to  
To download a 2013 Goal of the Year submission form click here: [link]
To download a 2013 Save of the Year submission form click here: [link]


Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article