Skip to Main Content

Competitions Results

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

2013 US Youth Soccer Boys and Girls Competitive Coaches of the Year announced


2013 US Youth Soccer Boys and Girls Competitive Coaches of the Year announced

Washington’s Zahra Lechak and Illinois’ Minos Vlamakis honored at Awards Gala

PHILADELPHIA (Jan. 17, 2014) — The recipients of the 2013 US Youth Soccer Competitive Coach of the Year award for Boys and Girls were announced tonight at the US Youth Soccer Awards Gala, held in conjunction with the 2014 US Youth Soccer Workshop in Philadelphia. The national US Youth Soccer Competitive Coaches of the Year award winners are Zahra Lechak of Auburn, Wash., (Girls) and Minos Vlamakis of Chicago, Ill., (Boys).

Hilary Kennedy, host of The US Youth Soccer Show, set the stage for the night as the master of ceremonies for the more than 1,000 in attendance. Boys and Girls Recreation Coaches of the Year, Young Referee of the Year, Administrator of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Goal and Save of the Year, TOPSoccer Buddy of the Year and the Dr. Thomas Fleck Award were also presented during the Gala, and the US Youth Soccer Hall of Fame inductees were honored, as well.

Development is the main objective for Zahra Lechak when it comes to her players. She’s guided several teams and many players to reach and extend their potential, and has led multiple teams at DOS FC and Seattle United to Washington State Cup finals, semifinals and quarterfinals. A talented player at UConn, Lechak now has her USSF ‘A’ License and has worked on the Region IV ODP staff, as well as with the Seattle Sounders.  

On the field, Minos Vlamakis helped his Raiders FC team to State Cup, Region II Championship and National League titles, and they were 2013 US Youth Soccer National Finalists. Off the field, Minos personally spoke with academic counselors and held study tables on trips, to ensure his players kept up with academics and remained on track for graduation. He’s also organized an annual charity game to raise money for cancer patients.

Recipients of the Competitive Coach of the Year awards are selected by the US Youth Soccer Board of Directors on the basis of sportsmanship, player development, personal coaching development and community involvement (citizenship).

For bios on each of the regional award winners, click here.

These coaches have committed to continued education and self-sacrifice to give back to the sport they love with the hope that they might enhance one of their players abilities and quality of life. US Youth Soccer is proud to highlight these Competitive Coaches of the Year for their time and efforts in contributing to America's youth through the great game of soccer. By promoting teamwork, discipline, fitness and fair play these coaches are making a difference.

For more information about the US Youth Soccer Awards Gala and award winners, go to 


Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article