Skip to Main Content

Competitions Results

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

Top 10 nominees for Save and Goal of the Year to open for voting

January 26, 2012 12:00 AM

Save of the Year voting period: Jan. 30 – Feb. 3
Goal of the Year voting period: Feb. 6 – Feb. 10
National winner to be named at US Youth Soccer Awards Gala 
@USYouthSoccer, live announcement of national winner
FRISCO, Texas (January 26, 2012) – After receiving numerous worthy submissions, US Youth Soccer has narrowed the field down to 10 Goal of the Year and 10 Save of the Year official nominees. The general soccer community now has the chance to determine the 2011 winners in each category through an online voting process at and on beginning on January 30.
The nomination process was open to any US Youth Soccer player in the Under-6 through Under-18 age groups. After the online voting is closed, the Goal and Save of the Year Awards will be presented at the US Youth Soccer Awards Gala, held in conjunction with the US Youth Soccer Workshop in Boston.

Save of the Year voting: 9 a.m. Monday, Jan. 30 – 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 3
2011 Top Ten Save of the Year Nominees
Name Age Club Hometown
Lionel Perez Under-14 Boys Sockers SC Palatine, Ill.
Blake Andrews Under-17 Boys EFC Tornados Maize, Kan.
Alyse Scott Under-17 Girls NASA 12 Elite 2 Marietta, Ga.
Brett Werner Under-12 Boys Danubia Celtic Philadelphia
Madison Newsom Under-13 Girls Elk Grove 98G Sacramento, Calif.
Jessica Wiggins Under-18 Girls FC Stars of Mass Acton, Mass.
Eric Bykowsky Under-16 Boys CESA 95 Columbia, S.C.
Katie Wilson Under-15 Girls Eclipse Select Oak Brook, Ill.
Sami Skibell Under-11 Girls KCFC Force Overland Park, Kan.
Tyler Volking Under-14 Boys Lonestars SC Cedar Park, Texas

Goal of the Year voting: 9 a.m. Monday, Feb. 6 – 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 10
2011 Top Ten Goal of the Year Nominees
Name Age Club Hometown
Dylan Smith Under-14 Boys Fullerton Rangers Anaheim, Calif.
Ashley Short Under-16 Girls FC Frederick Frederick, Md.
William Auerweck Under-10 Boys Carolina SC Holly Springs, N.C.
Melvin Snoh Under-17 Boys Penn Fusion Coatesville, Pa.
Leonardo Lindo Under-13 Boys Palo Alto SC Palo Alto, Calif.
Cara Walls Under-18 Girls FC Milwaukee Wauwatosa, Wis.
Jamal Awadallah Under-14 Boys Dakota Alliance Sioux Falls, S.D.
Cameron Moseley Under-16 Boys Concorde Fire Duluth, Ga.
Mateo Leach Under-12 Boys Arlington Eagles Arlington, Va.
Nai'a Graham Under-14 Boys HSC Bulls Kaneohe, Hawaii

For more information about attending the 2012 US Youth Soccer Workshop, held in Boston, Feb. 16-18, 2012, please visit
# # #
About the United States Youth Soccer Association (US Youth Soccer) – US Youth Soccer - "The Game for ALL Kids!®" is the largest youth sports organization in the country and largest member of the United States Soccer Federation, the governing body of soccer in the United States. US Youth Soccer registers more than 3 million players annually, ages 5 to 19, and over 900,000 administrators, coaches and volunteers in 55 member State Associations. US Youth Soccer programs provide a fun, safe and healthy environment for players at every level of the game. For more information, visit


Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article