Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

News - Details

US Youth Soccer Represented on 2022 Women's MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

August 22, 2022 03:30 PM

Jamie Shepherd (right) celebrates with Utah Celtic teammates during run to 2019 US Youth Soccer National Championship

FRISCO, Texas (August 22, 2022) - US Youth Soccer (USYS) is well represented on the 2022 Women’s MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List with the season just underway.

The Hermann Trophy, which is presented annually by the Missouri Athletic Club, is the nation’s highest individual honor recognizing the National Player of the Year. It is determined by the voting of Division I coaches who are members of United Soccer Coaches.

Announced last Thursday, August 18th, 35 of the 60 members on the watch list have direct ties to US Youth Soccer, with the Olympic Development Program (ODP) prominently featured. Included are 12 2021 United Soccer Coaches All-Americans: Hannah Bebar (Harvard), Maycee Bell (UNC), Croix Bethune (USC), Megan Bornkamp (Clemson), Messiah Bright (TCU), Michelle Cooper (Duke), Lia Godfrey (Virginia), Penelope Hocking (Penn State), Lauren Kozal (Michigan State), Megan Nemec (Loyola Chicago), Kaitlyn Parks (Wake Forest), and Jaida Thomas (Tennessee).

Lexi Missimo (Solar, North Texas - 2016), Anna Podojil (CUP, Ohio - 2017), and Jamie Shepherd (Utah Celtic, Utah - 2019) will all be hoping to win another National Championship after doing so with US Youth Soccer. Podojil, who now plays for Arkansas, and Shepherd, BYU, also received the Golden Ball Award at Nationals on their way to youth soccer victory.

2022 Women’s MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List by Position


  • Lauren Brzykcy*, UCLA
  • Nadia Cooper*, Washington State University
  • Leah Freeman, University of Oregon
  • Lauren Kellett^, Texas Christian University
  • Bella Kilgore, Rice University
  • Lauren Kozal^~, Michigan State University
  • Ashley Orkus, University of Mississippi
  • Kaitlyn Parks^, Wake Forest University


  • Maycee Bell*, University of North Carolina
  • Megan Bornkamp*^, Clemson University
  • Jordan Brewster, West Virginia University
  • Emma Clarke, University of Houston
  • Kayla Duran, Brown University
  • Eva Gaetino*, University of Notre Dame
  • Katia Hanger~, Lipscomb University
  • Jyllissa Harris, University of South Carolina
  • Tianna Harris, Kent State University
  • Mykiaa Minniss^, Washington State University
  • Dunja Mostarac, University of Massachusetts-Lowell
  • Lilly Reale*^~, UCLA
  • Reyna Reyes*, University of Alabama
  • Jade Rose, Harvard University
  • Laveni Vaka`, Brigham Young University
  • Trinity Watson, Pepperdine University


  • Hannah Bebar*^, Harvard University
  • Croix Bethune*, University of Southern California
  • Gracie Brian, Texas Christian University
  • Shelby Craft, Lipscomb University
  • Maya Doms, Stanford University
  • Jadyn Edwards*~, University of New Mexico
  • Carlee Giammona^, Pepperdine University
  • Lia Godfrey^, University of Virginia
  • Anna Haddock*^~, Auburn University
  • Taylor Huff*^, University of Tennessee
  • Camille Lafaix*, Cal Poly
  • Julia Leas*, Georgetown University
  • Molly McLaughlin`, Xavier University
  • Roma McLaughlin, Central Connecticut State University
  • Lexi Missimo^, University of Texas
  • Delaney Schultz*, Rice University
  • Courtney Sebazco, Southern Methodist University
  • Jamie Shepherd*^~, Brigham Young University


  • Tonya Boychuk, University of Memphis
  • Messiah Bright^~, Texas Christian University
  • Michelle Cooper*, Duke University
  • Nicole Douglas, Arizona State University
  • Mackenzie George, University of Tennessee
  • Penelope Hocking^, Penn State University
  • Jameese Joseph, North Carolina State University
  • Louise Lillback, Florida Gulf Coast University
  • Megan Nemec*, Loyola University Chicago
  • Beata Olsson, Florida State University
  • Anna Podojil*^~, University of Arkansas
  • Brittany Raphino, Brown University
  • Ally Schlegel, Penn State University
  • Katie Soderstrom*, Butler University
  • Jaida Thomas^~, University of Tennessee
  • Riley Tiernan, Rutgers University
  • Tori Waldeck, Pepperdine University
  • Summer Yates*~, University of Washington

For more information on US Youth Soccer’s alumni, visit

* - US Youth Soccer ODP
^ - US Youth Soccer NCS
~ - US Youth Soccer National League

` - US Youth Soccer Presidents Cup


About the United States Youth Soccer Association (US Youth Soccer)

US Youth Soccer, the largest youth sport organization in the country, is on a mission to provide world-class support, resources, and leadership, helping every member fulfill their goals on and off the field of play. US Youth Soccer registers nearly 2.5 million players annually. Through its programming, resources and leadership, US Youth Soccer is advancing the game for its 54 Member State Associations, 10,000 clubs and leagues and nearly 1 million administrators, coaches, and volunteers. US Youth Soccer connects families and communities to the power of sports and its shared love of soccer. US Youth Soccer provides a path for every player, offering programs that provide a fun, safe and healthy environment for players at every level of the game.